What is Alopecia Areata?

 

The picture above is the last picture I took before lost all of my hair. Ironically, these were family photos. I believe I was 6 years old at the time. You can tell that my hair was beginning to fall out and I was still smiling. As I looked through my medical documentation yesterday, sadness completely overwhelmed me. Reading the documentation made me think about everything that I went through before this picture even occurred. In this picture I had no clue exactly what was in store for me and my life.  I was an innocent little girl who loved her family. I am going to refer to this picture over the next few blogs.

So what is Alopecia? (Of course this is something you can Google, but in true form, I want to start from the beginning!)

In short, Alopecia Areata is an autoimmune disorder in which the body mistakenly attacks the hair follicles causing hair loss.

About 10% of people with this condition may never regrow hair.  People are more likely to have permanent hair loss if they:

  • Have a family history of the condition.
  • Have the condition at a young age or for longer than 1 year (My case).
  • Have another autoimmune disease.
  • Are prone to allergies.
  • Have extensive hair loss..
  • Have abnormal color, shape, texture, or thickness of the fingernails or toenails.

A hospital stay due to pneumonia is likely what triggered Alopecia for me. I have been diagnosed with Alopecia Areata Totalis (Total scalp hair loss).  I have had it since I was about 6 years old.  Although my hair has grown back on two occasions,  I have been without hair on my scalp since I was in high school.

Please see more information about Alopecia Areata at www.naaf.org.

Be Strong, Be You

Tanisha

Next Blog: So It Begins. The Pneumonia Story

 

5 thoughts on “What is Alopecia Areata?

  1. Greetings from California! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone
    during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here
    and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, amazing
    blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

